top of page

The Sniper's Tale

November 22, 1963 President John F. Kennedy was shot and killed while driving a presidential motorcade in Dallas, Texas. Lee Harvey Oswald, who is the main character in this short story, was the sniper who killed JFK. At least according to US officials. Oswald worked in the Texas School Book Depository in Dallas. And he shot JFK through one of the windows in this building. This is the Sniper's Tale.

It was a beautiful Friday morning. The sun was shining, and the sky was blue and cloud-free. Except for the chilly wind and relatively low temperature, it could have been a day in mid-July. It was a beautiful morning.

People had already started gathering in the streets, even though the President had not yet arrived in Dallas. Luckily, they were all so excited that they paid no attention to me, the guy with the big paper bag in his hands. I carefully entered the Depository. As I closed the door behind me, I took a deep breath. This was it.

I gazed over the room, searching for my co-workers. They were nowhere to be seen. Probably in the back, goofing around and watching the live scenes. It was not much to do today anyway, because after all, all the people were out, either in the streets or at work themselves.

I walked up the stairs, and the hollow sound of my steps echoed in the walls. It seemed so very quiet this morning, but still my mind was bright as ever. Even after walking all the stairs to the sixth floor, I had a surplus of energy, and it felt like I could walk forever. However, it was no time for that. I moved towards the southeast corner of the room, and put the bag down. My eyes took a quick look out the window, my eyes passing over the many heads. Then I got to work. I put cardboard over all the windows, except for the one in the southeast corner, and rigged the rest of the equipment.

And then I just waited.

My mind started going back to when I was twelve, and my mother and I moved to New York. All the endless days in the library and at the museum, the long rides on the underground and the hours spent in the Bronx Zoo. The day I remembered the most, was the one where I read about the Rosenbergs. They had been executed because people believed they were spies, working for the Russians. That was the day I learnt that you have to do what you think is right, even though it means opposing the established order.

I looked down at my hands. A stripe that was brighter than my original skin-tone snaked its way around my left ring finger. My gaze quickly went out the window as someone started shouting. My heart started beating rapidly, and my eyes searched the area. Nothing. Just people.

Again, I was lost in my own thoughts, when someone shouted and I nearly jumped in my seat. This time it was from inside the building.

“Hey, you! Want to have lunch with us?” My boss shouted.

I quickly walked to the stairs. “No. But send the elevator up, would you?” I shouted back.

No one answered, but shortly after, I heard a deep rumble, and then the familiar sound of the elevator moving up. I walked back to my seat, and looked down on the street. My co-workers were walking down the street, making their way through the crowds of people that had now gathered. They all seemed so happy and excited, like dogs waiting for their treat. The elevator stopped, and once again, it was silent in the building.

My mind travelled back to the Rosenbergs. They had done what they had to do. Now it was my turn. Even if killing the President of the United States of America was what I had to do.

The crowds started cheering outside.

Chills went down my spine as the cold rifle met my cheek.

I waited.

One person can make a difference, and everyone should try.

Funny how your own words can kill you.

And then I pulled the trigger. One time. Reload. Two. Reload.

Three.

SOURCES:

Breslow, Jason M. (11/19/2013) 8 Things You May Not Know About Lee Harvey Oswald. URL: http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/pages/frontline/biographies/oswald/8-things-you-may-not-know-about-lee-harvey-oswald/ [Reading date: 01/20/2015]

Frontline (11/19/2013) Twenty-Four Year. URL: http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/pages/frontline/biographies/oswald/twenty-four-years/ [Reading date: 01/20/2015]

John F. Kennedy Presidential Library & Museum. Death of the President. URL: http://www.jfklibrary.org/JFK/JFK-in-History/November-22-1963-Death-of-the-President.aspx?p=3 [Reading date: 01/15/2015]

Wikipedia (08/30/13) Attentatet mot John F. Kennedy. URL: http://no.wikipedia.org/wiki/Attentatet_mot_John_F._Kennedy [Reading date: 01/20/2015]

Wikipedia (12/28/2014) Lee Harvey Oswald. URL: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lee_Harvey_Oswald [Reading date: 01/21/2015]

Wikipedia (12/28/2014) Texas School Book Depository. URL: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Texas_School_Book_Depository [Reading date: 01/21/2015]

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page