top of page

Everything's All Messed Up


Dear Diary

Everything’s all messed up. The last two days have both been a big blur. Even though I’m now the oldest girl in this family, and have to pretend that I can take care of my younger siblings, it’s freaking hard. This wasn’t supposed to happen. She wasn’t supposed to be DEAD. Gone forever. The kind, wonderful, intelligent and beautiful woman was supposed to grow old along with my daddy. But of course, it’s always the good ones that go first, right? The brave hearted. At least I’ve heard so, and it seems like it too.

On Sept.11. daddy called me at 9.01 AM, precisely 16 minutes after the first plane had crashed into the North Tower of the World Trade Center. Luckily, my high school is located far away from the center of New York. Therefore, where I was staying the moment was safe. Before he called, my whole class was updated on what was happening. At least more or less. We knew that an airplane had crashed into one of the skyscrapers in New York, and on the news they said that this was obviously just an accident. Daddy and me spoke, both kind of confused and scared, he told me that mommy was on her way out of the building. And at that moment, I was extremely happy. Mommy was safe. Unfortunately, that moment of happiness didn’t last long. The second after he finished that sentence, I saw, on the little TV-screen we had put up in class, that a new plain was about to crash into the next building, the south tower, the one where my mom works. My heart stopped.

I can only remember bits and pieces from that exact moment. Daddy had obviously seen the same thing as I had, because he screamed, lost his phone in some way, and I didn’t hear from him in a couple of minutes. I, on the other hand, turned silent right away. I was only shocked. Didn’t believe my own eyes. I think I pinched my arm or did something to see if I was awake or dreaming. I’m not sure, it was just terrifying and unbelievable at the same time. Was there any hope? There had to be. My mom was a hero, she would do anything to survive and protect the ones she cared about. However, could she manage to escape this? Survive…this? Tears welled up in my eyes. Reality tapped on my shoulder, and it felt like a huge wave of emotions just pour down on me.

Yesterday, my family and probably the rest of USA got tons of numbers, numbers of the dead and injured. Three thousand people had died, including 343 firefighters and 60 police officers. And we should not forget the injured ones, the ten thousand that got hurt in the so called “accidents”. The “accidents” turned out to be terrorist attacks, lead by Osama Bin Laden. This man, a terrorist extremist, has a goal of turning the whole world into a big Islamic state. In his attempt of doing this, thousands of people end up dead instead. What a dreadful man. It’s seriously unbelievable. I get sick just by writing his name. I hate that man. The man that took my mom’s life. I. Hate. Him.

So now we’re sitting here. At a ranch on the countryside in Pennsylvania. It wasn’t safe enough for us in New York, and just like most of the other inhabitants in New York, we got away. My aunt and my uncle run this place, so we get to stay here for free as long as we want. In this way, we can get some time to relax and feel a bit safe before we move back into our apartment in New York. My dad, my two younger brothers and I. Not my mom. She’s probably stuck under a big pile of glass, cement, paper and bricks. I will never forget the day before yesterday. And I will never forgive al-Qaeda, the terrorist group where Osama Bin Laden is the leader, for what they did to my mom, our home and our country.

Sources: http://www.history.com/topics/9-11-attacks http://www.history.com/topics/osama-bin-laden

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page